Admin

Attendance

Please note that all the times listed here will be an hour later on Thursdays when our start time in the morning will be 9:10am.

The first bell rings at 8:05am.  The tardy bell rings at 8:10am. Students arriving after 8:10am need to check in with the office and get a tardy slip to take to their teacher. Tardies are unexcused unless a parent signs the student in or calls the office.

WHEN A CHILD IS ABSENT it is very important that parents call the attendance line to report the absence by 8:30am the day of the absence. The attendance number is (303-982-0238). Calls from students will not be accepted. Even if you have advised a teacher of your child’s absence, please also leave a message on the attendance line.

If a message is not left on the attendance line, we will attempt to contact parents/guardians using all available phone numbers and email addresses. We will leave messages if we are unable to speak personally with an adult.  

Upon your child’s return to school after an absence, all school work that was missed must be completed. In most cases, make-up work will not be given to your child prior to a planned absence. If your child has extended absences (such as from a serious illness), you may arrange to pick up homework with your child’s teacher. Please see info on Make Up Work below.

Pre-arranged absences, for 3 days or more, should be approved prior to the absence if at all possible. We understand that emergencies occur and we ask that you leave a message for these occasions. Prearranged absence forms are available in the office. The principal may approve or disapprove based on the reason for the absence and the number of absences a student may have.

The State of Colorado requires students to attend school for 176 days per school year. An Attendance Plan will be established for those students deemed to have 4 unexcused absences in a month, or 10 unexcused absences in a year. This plan will be written with input from the student, the parent, and a school official. The plan is designed to improve student attendance before a court hearing is mandated.

Colorado state law allows principals to change excused absences to unexcused absences in special circumstances.

Definitions Of Excused And Unexcused Absences:

  • Excused Absence – 2 or fewer consecutive days
    All absences of 2 or fewer days must be called in prior to, or on the day of, the absence, no later than 8:30am on the attendance line 303-982-0238.
  • Excused Absence – 3 or more days
    All absences of 3 or more days should be approved prior to the days of the absence except in extreme emergency situations.
  •  
  • Absences will be excused for:
    *Illness and medical care subject to doctor verification if requested by the administration.
    *Family emergencies and family business subject to verification, if requested.
      Pre-arranged Absence Form must be submitted and approved prior to absence.
     Other documentation might be required under certain conditions.  

 

Unexcused Absence:

  • Absences that are not excused as defined above.
  • Any absence without notice from a parent by 8:30 AM on the day of the absence.
  • 3 or more days of illness without direct contact with school secretary and/or approval from the principal.
  • Extended leave of 3 or more days from school without prior approval from the school.
  • Any absence where documentation was required in order to be excused, that was not properly documented.

Half-Day Absence:

  • Any student arriving after 9:45 AM and before 11:10 AM will be considered a ½ day AM absence.
  • Any student leaving after 11:10 AM and before 1:06 PM will be considered a ½ day PM absence.

Tardies:

  • Any student arriving at school after 8:10 AM and before 9:45 AM will be considered tardy.
  • Any student checked out after 1:06pm and before 2:50pm will be considered an early release.

Perfect Attendance
Perfect attendance will be recognized at the end of each trimester. Our School Improvement Team has agreed that perfect attendance will be defined as less than or equal to 3 tardies plus NO absences during a given trimester.

We realize that doctor appointments sometimes must be made during the school day. To limit the instructional time a student misses for appointments it is better to try to schedule them near the beginning or end of the school day or during a student’s lunch period. Documentation may be requested.

Make-up work
Makeup work shall be provided for any class in which a student has an excused/unexcused absence. It is the student's responsibility to pick up any make-up assignments on the day he or she returns to class. Makeup work shall be allowed following an excused/unexcused absence with the goal of providing the student an opportunity to keep up with the class and as an incentive to attend school. Academic penalties will be limited to the equivalent of one letter grade being deducted from the score earned by the student if the work is turned in after the identified time limit stated below.

Students who complete make-up work in the required period of time (two days for every day absent, however an extension may be granted by school administration) will receive full academic credit.

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2018 West Corporation. All rights reserved.